Arduino IDE can not start.

and try.
nvidia@tegra-ubuntu:~$ arduino
Exception in thread “main” java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
at processing.app.Preferences.save(Preferences.java:735)
at processing.app.Preferences.init(Preferences.java:249)
at processing.app.Base.main(Base.java:117)
Caused by: java.awt.HeadlessException
at sun.awt.HeadlessToolkit.getMenuShortcutKeyMask(HeadlessToolkit.java:236)
at processing.core.PApplet.(Unknown Source)
… 3 more

and reinstall java8 still error.
Please advise me.
Apichat

I have no knowledge of arduino. It does seem though from “HeadlessException” that you are accessing the Jetson remotely. Are you using ssh? If so, did you ssh in with “-Y” or set up some sort of configuration for where to display or what display to associate with?

@linuxdev

Thank for your response.I found http://blog.opensensors.io/blog/2014/09/13/getting-started-with-arduino-on-linux/ i will try and let you know.

Apichat

Have You solvedr? My ide still doesnt start… grrrrrrr

Start your IDE from the command line, then list what the error says. Also, mention if this is a local login directly on the Jetson, or if ssh is used.

If you SSH to the Jetson, you should use “ssh -X”
Also, make sure the DISPLAY environment variable is set to “:10”

mycomputer$ ssh -X nvidia@jetson
jetson$ export DISPLAY=:10
jetson$ ./arduino-1.8.4/arduino

This works for me.
Note: If it doesn’t start, and gives some error messages, it may be that you’re missing some system libraries that are needed (GTK related, for example.)
Those can be installed using sudo apt install.

I’m connected direct, not via ssh

this is what I get:

nvidia@tegra-ubuntu:/opt/arduino-1.8.5$ ./arduino
./arduino: line 35: /opt/arduino-1.8.5/java/bin/java: No such file or directory

should I need to set any path? how?

Thank you
gio