remote desktop control if jetson tx2

Hello! So I’ve been trying very hard to remote control a Jetson TX2 from an ubuntu machine. I am very new to this stuff so there are manhy things i do not understand. I just installed Jetpack 3.1 and I really want to run a sample on my jetson and be able to see the graphics on my ubuntu computer without having to attach an extra monitor/keyboard to the jetson itself. Does anyone know how to do this STEP BY STEP to get this working on my ubuntu computer?

Thanks in advance.

use ssh with the flag “-X”. IIRC it does some processing onboard the ubuntu machine to create the displays, but as a simple test it should show results.

Here is a step-by-step tutorial:

1. let’s assume your Jetson is called “192.168.0.5” and you’re using the “nvidia” login

2. let’s assume you’re currently running Ubuntu 14.04 or 16.04 on your host computer

3. Do the following in a Ubuntu terminal window:

ssh -X nvidia@192.168.0.5

This will connect you to a command line shell on the Jetson. This is the only command you run on the host – the other commands below are all for the Jetson itself.

1. Now, in that shell on the jetson, do this:
export DISPLAY=:10

This tells whatever program you start to connect to “display 10” of the system, which happens to be the default virtual display that ssh -X creates to forward to your host.

1. Now, you can start graphical programs, and see them on your host display:
xeyes &

If that doesn’t start, then you might need to first:

sudo apt install x11-apps

Each program you start from the command line on display 10 will be forwarded to your host screen.
If you want a graphical file browser:

sudo apt install pcmanfm
pcmanfm &