Acceleration + Exceptions Issues

Hello all,
First time poster and occasional reader of this forum. I have been using optiX for a couple of months.

I am writing because I am having some issues with acceleration structures that I don’t understand and would like some help.
Namely, different behavior depending on the acceleration structure used, the refit property, and exceptions enabled.
By way of summary, see this image

The scene set-up:

//list of points Npt each [x,y,z]
  vert_ = context_->createBuffer(RT_BUFFER_INPUT, RT_FORMAT_FLOAT3, mesh->numVert());

//connectivity Ntri each [ind0, ind1, ind2, ID]
  ind_ = context_->createBuffer(RT_BUFFER_INPUT, RT_FORMAT_INT4, mesh->numTri());

//the mesh is already on device 
  //with correct types, list of 3 floats (packed), list of 4 int (packed)
  vert_->setDevicePointer(0, mesh->get_pts().ptr_);
  ind_->setDevicePointer(0, mesh->get_tri().ptr_);

//create geometry (all primitives in one)
  geo_ = context_->createGeometry();
  geo_["vertex_buffer"]->setBuffer(vert_);
  geo_["index_buffer"]->setBuffer(ind_);
  geo_->setPrimitiveCount(mesh->numTri());

/*these are the bounding box and intersection programs that come with SUTIL SDK
   (with slight modification to allow for indices being int4 instead of int3 
    and keep intersecting primitive index) */
  geo_->setBoundingBoxProgram(boundProg_);
  geo_->setIntersectionProgram(interProg_);

geoInst_ = context_->createGeometryInstance();
  geoInst_->setMaterialCount(1);
  geoInst_->setGeometry(geo_);
  /* material doesn't have anything special, it associates ray type and uses the primitive index 
    variable to look-up the triangle color in the closest_hit program */
  geoInst_->setMaterial(0, mat_);

geoGroup_ = context_->createGeometryGroup();
  geoGroup_->addChild(geoInst_);
  accel_ = context_->createAcceleration("Trbvh");

//index buffer stride to account for the <ID>
  accel_->setProperty("index_buffer_stride", "4");
  accel_->setProperty("refit", "1");