How to upgrade my TX1 machine to R28.1

I am new in using the TX1 machine. Can someone tell me the detailed steps to upgrade my TX1 machine to R28.1. It currently has R24.2.1.

In short, you may save your data, code and config first into an external storage, and use JetPack3.1 (you can download it from NVIDIA [url]https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/jetpack[/url]) for reflashing a fresh 28.1 image on your TX1.
You may have to reinstall some manually installed packages after that for setting up an equivalent environment for your apps.

I downloaded file JetPack-L4T-3.1-linux-x64.run into my windows machine. What are the steps for reflashing it into the TX1 machine?

JetPack is a front end to flashing and additional package updates to both host and Jetson, and runs only on an Ubuntu Linux host PC (Windows won’t work). Officially only Ubuntu 14.04 host PCs are supported, but mostly an Ubuntu 16.04 host PC works (there may be a sample which won’t work on Ubuntu 16.04).

I ran JetPack3.1 in my Ubuntu 14.04 x86 host PC. It encountered a problem at installing cuda-toolkit-8-0 so the installation stopped at the step of “Post Installation Jetson TX1”.

I tried to download cuda-8.0 at https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downloads?target_os=Linux manually, but it could not continue. The site does not have ARM64 architecture file.

At this point, the JetPack3.1 installation stopped at the step of “Post Installation Jetson TX1”.

I tried the installation twice but hang at the same place. What should I do?

It’s useful to know that JetPack flash and extra package installs are independent of each other…flash runs on the micro-B USB cable, package install runs only over wired ethernet. You can always reboot the Jetson and then check just the software install portion on JetPack.