DIGITS: Machine restarts when I use AlexNet or LeNet

I am new to deep learning and been reading quite a few papers recently (Sorry if I posted it in the wrong section/forum). I have installed Cuda, cuDNN, DIGITS, etc. To get used to DIGITS interface I run googleNet for a classification problem. Everything is okay. But when I use LeNet or AlexNet the entire system restarts. What I mean restart is everything went blank back to DOS and the machine starts up again. I suspect the problem is because AlexNet and LeNet are deep networks and require more memory? is that right? can someone help me to diagnose this problem please. Or maybe I didn’t install some required software correctly?

By the way I’m on Linux 16.04 (again I’m quite new to this OS), Cuda 9 and cuDNN 7, Nvidia driver 384.98

I really appreciate your help.

• 32GB 2133MHz PC4-2133 ECC Registered DDR4 Memory (2 x 16GB)
• 240GB 2.5" SOLID STATE DRIVE
• 2TB Serial ATA 3 Hard Drive
• Serial ATA Multi-format DVD Writer/CD-RW Drive - Black
• Cyberlink Media Suite 10 (pre-installed)
• Integrated Intel Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080 8GB PCI Express Graphics with DVI, HDMI and 3x DP
• Integrated High Definition audio
• Viglen Soft Touch 105-key USB Windows 8 Keyboard - Black
• Viglen Optical Wheel Mouse (USB, black)
• Iiyama ProLite B2483HS 24’’ Multimedia LED Display with DVI, HDMI + H’Adj
• 24’’ LED Display panel
• 1,920 x 1,080 resolution
• Built in Height Adjust stand
• Integrated 2x 2W stereo speakers
• Connections: VGA, DVI, HDMI
• Contrast: 1,000:1 typical
• Brightness: 300cd/m2
• Response time: 2ms
• 100mm VESA mount compliant
• Dimensions (WxHxD): 565 x 390 x 520mm
• 600 Watt 80 PLUS Power Supply

Thanks,
eric