How big is minimum assigned size in cudaMalloc?

Hello.
I am studying CUDA by myself… that’s really hard to me…
I used cudaMalloc API.
For example,
cudaMalloc((void **)&d_test, 10 * sizeof(int));
in this line, I thought d_test uses 40 bytes.
But in practice, it is assigned for about 2MB (2,097,152 bytes)…

I attach about device memory info.

before memory: 2601792307 bytes
after memory: 2599695155 bytes

How big is minimum assigned size in cudaMalloc?

because my data set is for about 12MB in reality.
But when I call the cudaMalloc, it takes bigger size than real size…
My graphic card memory size is 3GB and test data set is 12MB.
but memory is lack… I am panic now…
Please help me…

If you perform another small cudaMalloc() (two successive calls in a row)? does it reuse the same 2MB chunk of device memory? Because that’s what I would expect.

Also the first call to cudaMalloc() might have created the cuda context. That’s a lot of overhead, which also consumes memory on both the host and the device.

Christian

Dear cbuchner1

Yes, that’s right. I just check that.

I assign 400,000 bytes (100,000*sizeof(int)) 6 times.
this is a result.

current free memory: 2601792307 bytes
test free memory: 2599695155 bytes
test free memory: 2597598003 bytes

when over 2MB size, system allocate new chunk 2MB… I guessed. but I can not be sure.
because I don’t know how to cuda memory system working exactly…

I have a question. Do you know the C language also assign malloc like this…?

The C language passes of malloc() and free() (as well as new/delete operators) to runtime libraries. These runtime libraries are vendor specific in their implementation details. The runtime usually performs some kind of memory pooling based on allocation size heuristics.

There are even special libraries such as google performance tools that install their own high performance heap implementation when linked against (besides adding useful debugging and profiling features).