Basics re: memory & performance - total newbie to CUDA

First of all thanks to NVIDIA for the creation of CUDA.
This may be a total newbie question but you will soon understand
my confusion about the issues re: memory and threading in CUDA.

Below is an insert from someone else with an identical adapter to the one I have.
Namely the ZOTAC GeForce GTX 570.

The issues I have are the following;

A) The terminology!

Some state you can use 4 SMs at a time. Others have said 5.
Given the max 1536 threads per SM it appears as if only 1.5 blocks
can be used at full threading concurrently whereas 1536 threads may be scheduled?

The card per specs below state one may issue 1024 threads to one block but only 1536 to any one SM.

The number of Warps per SM is 32. So is the number of cores/SM.
Is this equivalent and thus ambiguous statements/terms?

The specs further state; “Run time limit on kernels: Yes”.
This to me is like saying “Q: When will we arrive at point X? A: Yes!”
In short, what is the timeout factor in s, ms or us alt. clockticks?

B) The number of maximum concurrent threads?
Is this 32x1.5 by the thread limit above or is it much more and if so, how much?

C) Finally. The Unified Memory.
On the card specified below, is this Unified Memory Max = L2 Cache Size (655360 bytes)
or is it = Total amount of constant memory: 65536 bytes
or is it = Total amount of shared memory per block: 49152 bytes

Many questions and very confusing with the near constant deviation in terminology used in the manuals and discussions so I for one hope any helpful soul can shed some light on this.

/Thanks in advance!

—GTX 570 specs—
CUDA Device Query (Runtime API) version (CUDART static linking)

Detected 1 CUDA Capable device(s)

Device 0: “GeForce GTX 570”
CUDA Driver Version / Runtime Version 8.0 / 7.5
CUDA Capability Major/Minor version number: 2.0
Total amount of global memory: 1280 MBytes (1342177280 bytes)
(15) Multiprocessors, ( 32) CUDA Cores/MP: 480 CUDA Cores