Displaying the CUDA consumer output over HDMI

Hi,
I am new to Driver PX2 platform and want to use nvmedia sample app ipp_bayerdgpu. Currently in the sample app the output of CUDA consumer is being saved in a file. But I want to render the output to the HDMI monitor instead of saving in the file.
Please suggest me how to do it.

Thanks,
Ashutosh

Dear ashutosh,
One way is to send the output of CUDA to OpenGL for rendering using EGLStream.

Hi Siva,
Thanks. If there is any sample app which is doing OPENGL rendering with CUDA output then can you please point me to that?

Thanks,
Ashutosh

Hi Ashutosh,
Please check CUDA_EGLStreams_Interop sample in CUDA. It uses CUDA as both producer and consumer. You need to replace CUDA consumer calls with openGL-EGL API calls for rendering. CUDA buffers are wrapped as openGL Texture to render it on screen.

Hi Siva,
Thanks a lot for your inputs. As I am new to this thing, just want your help to validate my approach.

In my usecase, I will get a RAW image from an image sensor and then I need to do some processing on this RAW image for which the code will be written in CUDA and then I need to render the processed image onto a display.

Given this is my usecase, I am thinking I should use NvMediaImageProducer and connect it to CUDA consumer using interop and then render the CUDA processed buffer on to a display over HDMI.

I found nvmipp_bayerdgpu sample closest to my usecase. In the cuda_consumer.c file, I need to place my code in cudaprocThreadFunc and as per your suggestion change the output currently being written to the file and use OpenGL-EGL API for rendering. I will study more about this rendering part.

Let me know if my thinking is ok for the usecase.

Thanks,
Ashutosh

Dear Ashutosh,