PS4 Joystick with Drive PX2

Hi,

I’m currently working on a vehicle that requires to have a joystick connected to a Drive PX2. I just had to re-flash the board due to an issue that no one in my team was able to solve. I did that using
DriveInstall_5.0.5.0bL_SDK_b3.run
following the steps given at
https://docs.nvidia.com/drive/driveinstall_docs/
The flashing process was successful (or at least I didn’t get any error), and I was able to login and start working on the board. The only thing that I did up to now is installing ROS as explained here:
https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1032204/faq/drive-px2-ros-installation/

My problem now is that the system doesn’t recognize the PS4 joystick I was using before the re-flashing. The joystick doesn’t appear in /dev/input as it used to (usually it was shown as js0). I tried using jstest-gtk and, as expected, the joystick is not listed.

I’m not an expert Linux user, so I don’t know if this makes sense or not, but my feeling is that a driver is missing. My understanding is that the drivers for the main joystick brands should be included in the kernel of the most recent versions of Linux, but I cannot find them in the Drive PX. I think (please correct me if I’m wrong), that this:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/v4.17/input/joydev/index.html
is the piece of kernel I should be looking for, but doing modprobe joydev gives me a “module not found” error.

I tried googling for an answer but I cannot find any easy solution, and I don’t want to compromise the board by doing something “deeper” that I don’t fully understand.

Any help on this would be much appreciated!
Thanks,
Filippo

Dear Filippo,

I have a quick question about ‘My problem now is that the system doesn’t recognize the PS4 joystick I was using before the re-flashing.
Does the PS4 joystick not work after flash the PDK? After installing the ROS, does the PS4 joystick not work? Thanks.