Debugger for python & C/C++ CUDA

Hi,

I am a backend C/C++ CUDA engineer. Often, the main program is written in Python and we use C / C++ extension to call parts of the program written in C/C++ in the Python function. However, whenever I have to debug such program, I cannot use “cuda-gdb” nor “gdb python”. Does anybody have a debugger that can stepthrough each line and check memory / register values for a program that is partially written in python, C / C++ CUDA?

Thanks

1 Like

Its possible to use cuda-gdb from python, assuming you only need to debug the C/C++ portion. I don’t know of a debugger that can jump from debugging python to debugging CUDA C++

To debug a CUDA C/C++ library function called from python, the following is one possibility, inspired from this article

1. For this walk through, I will use the t383.py and t383.cu files verbatim from this answer:

https://stackoverflow.com/a/45524623/1695960

I’ll be using CUDA 10, python 2.7.5, on CentOS7

1. Compile your CUDA C/C++ library using the -G and -g switches, as you would to do ordinary debug:
$ nvcc -Xcompiler -fPIC -std=c++11 -shared -arch=sm_60 -G -g -o t383.so t383.cu -DFIX
  1. We’ll need two terminal sessions for this. I will refer to them as session 1 and session 2. In session 1, start your python interpreter:
$ python
>>>
  1. In session 2, find the process ID associated with your python interpreter (replace USER with your actual username):
$ ps -ef |grep USER
USER    23221 22694  0 23:55 pts/0    00:00:00 python
$

In the above example, 23221 is the process ID for the python interpreter (use man ps for help)

1. In session 2, start cuda-gdb so as to attach to that process ID:
$ cuda-gdb -p 23221
... (lots of spew here)
(cuda-gdb)