How do I sort using CUDA?

Hello? I am a student studying CUDA.

Since CUDA is different from C language coding method, it seems to be different from C language Merge sort, Bitonic sort and so on, but I do not know how to do it.

I have tried to refer to CUDA Sort Sample, but I do not understand it. Is there any coding or open source to refer to Sorting with CUDA?

Thank you for reading and would appreciate your reply.

There is a lot of good information on GPU based parallel sorting on moderngpu

Here is one example for merge sort:

[url]https://moderngpu.github.io/mergesort.html[/url]

(fast, efficient) sorting can be a challenging task in a thread-parallel architecture like CUDA. So although simple algorithms like bubble sort and merge sort are easy to understand in a naive serial implementation, if you want to write a fast, efficient sort in CUDA, the complexity is substantially higher than these trivial serial versions. So unless you have considerable expertise with CUDA, it is not surprising in my opinion that these sort methods seem hard to understand.

There are also scientific/technical papers written about sorting on the GPU. You are likely to find more complete treatments there than anything someone is likely to write for you in an ad-hoc fashion on this forum.

Here is one such example:

[url]https://arxiv.org/pdf/1709.02520.pdf[/url]

I am also very new to CUDA (maybe a couple weeks into it), but I’m one of the best when it comes to working with relational databases. I’ve found things that carry over to CUDA from databases and embedded to be very important to keep in mind.

Hopefully I’m correct on this. I’ve identified two fundamentals with CUDA that are foreign to standard C development:

1. It is important to think in sets.