Unspecified Launch Failure from "volatile" adding "volatile" causes random ULF

Hi,

I’m experiencing a ULF when executing the same kernel repeatedly on the same data, but this error seems to occur at different iterations each time I run the program. I’ve gone through the forums and read that a few people have experienced similar problems.

Have you guys got any suggestions on how to move forward? In particular, my kernel doesn’t exhibit the ULF at all if I remove the “volatile” keyword from shared memory - which is really strange.

I’ve kind of hit a brick wall on this :(

I can post my code if you think it will help, but it’s a bit long. The reason for using “volatile” is that I need threads to perform atomic operations on shared memory using the “write-combining” approach shown in the Histogram SDK example.

-Shihab

I have a lot of experience with random ULF’s. Here are all the causes I’ve found:

1. Reading/writing past the end of allocated memory.

This is easy to do: common cases are where the nearest multiple of blocks puts some threads past the end of the array. You can check for these cases by compiling in emulation and debug mode and running the program through valgrind (linux only).

1. Overheating GPU. After running for ~5 hours at 79C in a severely cramped and under-cooled box, I’ve seen random kernels ULFing or experience the 5s launch timeout.

2. A hardware bug (my supposition: NVIDIA hasn’t confirmed this)

Some kernels with particular sequences of operations just seem to trigger random ULFs every ~40,000 calls. I have had two kernels that cause this. The first contained a particularly complicated set of warp divergences:

// rough code outline....

idx = threadIdx.x + blockIdx.x*blockDim.x;

for (i=0; i < NN[idx]; i++)

{

... do stuff ...

}

NN[idx] varies from 40-120 from thread to thread causing warp divergences at the tail of the loop. Changing the loop to that below fixes the random ULF (tested for 150 million+ calls)