NVCC forces c++ compilation of .cu files

I started programming Cuda a couple of months ago at my University. Our task was to optimize a video encoder and our precode was written in C. This caused a lot of trouble when including .cu files, since NVCC 2.x actually compiles these files as c++ files. c++ compilation enforces a different syntax for function symbols in object code, which resolved in linking errors of the type “undefined reference” when linking .cu object code with c compiled code (in the cases where the .c and .cu source files share headers). The situation can be remedied by putting all shared function declarations inside extern “C” {}.

While the latest NVCC documentation includes options for steering this aspect of compilation, e.g. the “–host-compilation” flag, these are deprecated with the latest NVCC version. In my current situation I am developing on an open source project written entirely in C, and while I am able to compile it successfully the c++ compiler is a lot stricter than the c compiler and generates errors in the native code.

Therefore - is it still possible to generate c compiled host code with the latest version of NVCC?

The CUDA runtime interface makes extensive use of C++ features, so it is not possible to compile code written for the runtime API (as opposed to the driver API) with a C compiler. Even the [font=“Courier New”]–host-compilation C[/font] compiler option didn’t change to the C compiler, it just adjusted a few settings so that the C++ compiler handled code more C-like. The option probably is deprecated for this reason: It doesn’t actually do what it pretends to do.

I’d suggest to move all your CUDA (host and device) code to a separate file. That way all your non-CUDA code can still be compiled with the C compiler, and [font=“Courier New”]extern “C”[/font] declarations in the CUDA part can be used to get the interface right (and well-defined).