Matlab & CUDA Cuda scripts executed from Matlab

Good morning to everyone,

I am a student who’s not very expert neither in Matlab nor in Cuda yet. My question is pretty basilar. At the moment, I have a Cuda script which reads a matrix from a binary file. To be more precise, such a matrix is obtained from previous calculations on Matlab, so I basically save it on a binary file and then the Cuda script reads it. Is there a way, an open source solution, which could allow me to launch the Cuda script directly from Matlab, in order to avoid the writing of a binary file?
I use Linux (CentOS), Matlab 7.12.0 (R2011a) and Cuda 4.0. I do not own Parallel Computing Toolbox (PCT) on Matlab and I have also read some about a Cuda plugin for Matlab, but it does not seem to be supported any longer by Cuda, isn’t it?

Many thanks for your kind attention and my best regards to you all!

Jason.
_

Hi, with the parallel computing toolbox you can call cuda kernels (complied to ptx) from matlab.
It is very easy and convenient to use ptx cuda kernels from matlab.
without the toolbox, i dont know any other way

Thank you very much Gaszton,

I was also thinking about another possibile solution. What if I wrote the Cuda script on a separated file (.cu), then I compiled it with nvcc and finally I linked it, as an extern library, to a mex file which runs the non - Cuda part of my application. Do you think it could work?

Thank you all for your kind attention and my best regards,

Jason.

Jason, you have 3 options:

1. Yes, you can do what you want to do in calling CUDA code as an external library. The upside is that you don’t have to buy anything. The downside is that you’re stuck with maintaining low-level code, and you’ll burn a lot of time hassling with it. The article you reference is the right place to get started on that and there are tons of posts in these forums from people who struggled to get that stuff to work.