CUDA and OpenGL - Beginner question

Hi,

I have project where I need to work with Qt, OpenGL and CUDA.
Basically, I need to create a CUDA library that will take a pointer to an image, process the image, give back a way to get the result. The library will be used to process the image, not for loading it or displaying it.

I am a beginner in CUDA and OpenGL so I’m kind of lost.
I was using this tutorial to create my CUDA library: OpenGL Interoperability with CUDA | 3D Game Engine Programming

Here some of my code:

__global__ void sobelfilter_kernel(int iw, int ih, unsigned char *source, unsigned char *dest)
{
    // Calculate our pixel's location
    int x = (blockIdx.x * blockDim.x) + threadIdx.x;
    int y = (blockIdx.y * blockDim.y) + threadIdx.y;

// Operate only if we are in the correct boundaries
    if(x > 0 && x < iw - 1 && y > 0 && y < ih - 1)
    {
        int gx = -source[iw*(y-1)+(x-1)] + source[iw*(y-1)+(x+1)] +
                 -2*source[iw*(y)+(x-1)] + 2*source[iw*(y)+(x+1)] +
                 -source[iw*(y+1)+(x-1)] + source[iw*(y+1)+(x+1)];
        int gy = -source[iw*(y-1)+(x-1)] - 2*source[iw*(y-1)+(x)]
                 -source[iw*(y-1)+(x+1)] +
                  source[iw*(y+1)+(x-1)] + 2*source[iw*(y+1)+(x)] +
                  source[iw*(y+1)+(x+1)];
        dest[iw*y+x] = (int) sqrt((float)(gx)*(float)(gx) + (float)(gy)*(float)(gy));
    }
}
int processingExec(int opengl_buffer, int width, int height)
{
	//Register the OpenGL Vertex Buffer with CUDA
	struct cudaGraphicsResource * cuda_vbo_resource = 0;
	cudaGraphicsGLRegisterBuffer(&cuda_vbo_resource, opengl_buffer, cudaGraphicsRegisterFlagsNone);

//Give access authority of the vbo to cuda
	//This will effectively “lock” the resource to the CUDA resource object
	cudaGraphicsMapResources(1, &cuda_vbo_resource, 0);

//Get a pointer to the device memory that can be used in the CUDA kernel
	 size_t num_bytes = 0;
	 unsigned char * dev_pointer = 0;