Exec format Erro adding Kernel modules in R21.3

hello,

Im a student from Germany, i want to add some kernel modules to the existing kernel from the Jetpack. I tried the tutorial from elinux http://elinux.org/Jetson/Tutorials/Program_An_Arduino.
i get an error from modprobe:

modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'ftdi_sio': Exec format error

modprobe -f shows the same error.

i compiled the newest source 3.10.40 and add the ftdi as module.
the command make module shows a warning:

WARNING: Symbol version dump /home/ubuntu/L4T_Kernel_R21.3/kernel/Module.symvers
is missing; modules will have no dependencies and modversions.

but the process finish without an error.

Any idea what I did wrong?

About the first error. “dmesg” might tell more precise reason for the exec format error.

looks like the zImage version is not matching your ftdi driver.

could you provide more informationas below three?

1. “ubuntu@tegra-ubuntu:~$ uname -r”
  2. “ubuntu@tegra-ubuntu:~$ modinfo ftdi_sio”
  3. “ubuntu@tegra-ubuntu:~$ ls -l /lib/modules”

The zImage version and vermagic of module must be the same as folder name of “/lib/modules/3.10.40-gc017b03”, if the BSP version is 21.3.

If the zImage and module version is not the same as 3.10.40-gc017b03, please make with argument like “make KERNELVERSION=3.10.40-gc017b03”.

1 Like

Additional question: Was this compiled on Jetson, or cross-compiled? If cross-compiled, which compiler did you use?

Hi,
dmesg prints:

ubuntu@tegra-ubuntu:~/L4T_Kernel_R21.3/kernel$ sudo modprobe ftdi_sio
[sudo]password for ubuntu: 
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'ftdi_sio': Exec format error
ubuntu@tegra-ubuntu:~/L4T_Kernel_R21.3/kernel$ dmesg -c 
dmesg: klogctl failed: Operation not permitted
ubuntu@tegra-ubuntu:~/L4T_Kernel_R21.3/kernel$

@BingTang : I post the three answers as fast as I can.
@linuxdev : The modules are compiled on the jetson board.

Thanks

1 Like

Try the dmesg command without the “-c” or with sudo.