New person

Hello everyone,

I am very new this and this is my first time doing gpu computing.

I have a really quick question. Is there a utility for ubuntu that I can download to test to see if I installed my drivers correctly?

Maybe everyone here knows. I am using some older hardware and I installed driver 346.59. In my setup, I have 3 Tesla C1060, and one GTX 480. Does the driver 346.59 install drivers for both the tesla and geforce? Is there anyway that I can test my tesla cards to make sure they are being recognized?

OK so I am running Ubuntu 14.04 and I am attempting to install CUDA 6.5 Toolkit. I Have downloaded the .run file but my main issue is that gedit is constantly freezing.

Is there a better method?

I’m not sure where gedit enters the process. You may simply have an unstable system, it’s not clear that it is a CUDA or GPU issue.

However, 346.xx drivers are not compatible with C1060. CUDA 6.5 and it’s driver family (340.xx) is the last CUDA version compatible with C1060.

There is a test utility, it installs with the driver, called nvidia-smi

If you run:

nvidia-smi

and get sane output, your drivers are very likely installed correctly.

There is a linux getting started guide that may help at [url]CUDA Toolkit Documentation

Ok, thanks,

Yeah, I was looking at the getting started guide for the nvidia Cuda 6.5 toolkit. I have the .run package for version 340.87. Is it a good option for me to run the .run package or is there a better method?

To install the toolkit, I am using the document: [url]http://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/6_5/rel/docs/CUDA_Getting_Started_Linux.pdf[/url]

However, I am stuck at the installing the repo. I get an error gpg: no valid OpenPGP data found

Looking at some similiar issues, one solution is saying that I need to get Authentication keys.

Is this what I need to do for CUDA?