Having trouble running samples from CUDA toolkit 7.0

Hey !

I am a science computer student and a total beginner to CUDA
I am just trying to run some samples from the toolkit and i got some problems

depend on wich sample it is nvcc doesnt work, for exemple i tried /users/wcqk2511/cuda-7.0/bin/nvcc template.cu -o template.out

and i got this : template.cu:28:25: error: helper_cuda.h: No such file or directory
template.cu:29:67: error: helper_functions.h: No such file or directory

i also got warning using some make → >>> WARNING - libGL.so not found, refer to CUDA Getting Started Guide for how to find and install them. <<<

WARNING - libGLU.so not found, refer to CUDA Getting Started Guide for how to find and install them. <<<
WARNING - libX11.so not found, refer to CUDA Getting Started Guide for how to find and install them. <<<
WARNING - libXi.so not found, refer to CUDA Getting Started Guide for how to find and install them. <<<
WARNING - libXmu.so not found, refer to CUDA Getting Started Guide for how to find and install them. <<<

The samples have a great many dependencies that need to be satisfied. They cannot be compiled and built in a standalone fashion just by compiling a single file (most cannot, anyway).

If you have a proper cuda install, you should be able to go to the samples directory:

/usr/local/cuda/samples

and issue a make command. If you don’t have a proper X and OpenGL installation, the graphical samples will not build correctly, either. The CUDA linux getting started guide has a few hints, and there are many examples on the web about how to get what you need.

For now I would issue make -k and probably most of the samples will build correctly.

Thanks for your answer

Despite the fact i am getting on, i still got problems

some samples still doesnt compile

I used export PATH=/usr/local/cuda-7.0/bin:$PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/cuda-7.0/lib64:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH