Debug Assertion Error

Hi,

I am having trouble using PhysX in Debug mode. I’m a PhysX noob, so maybe I am doing something wrong. I compiled my dll and libs and I could linked them into my program, but when I run my application in debug mode, I get a Debug Assertion Error on line 74 in PsFoundation.cpp with the message “PhysX3CommonDEBUG assertion failed: mInstance”. When I run my app in release mode everything works fine. I did not code something awesome, I just followed the snipplet HelloWorld implementention.
Do I need something more than just the .lib and .dll files like .ilk, .map or .exp?

Best regards
AlK

This assertion is occurring because the Foundation singleton has not been constructed. I think to fix this you want to call PxCreateFoundation (if you’re already calling it then call it sooner). The helloworld snippet does this in initPhysics.

The reason you’re not hitting the assertion in release is that the PX_ASSERT macro only throws when compiled with the debug flag. However if this assertion would fail then you’re going to get unpredictable behavior (crashes) even in release.

That cannot be the solution, 'cause I call PxCreateFoundation right at the beginning of my main function.
My main() looks like this:

PxFoundation* gFoundation = NULL;
PxPhysics* gPhysics = NULL;
PxDefaultCpuDispatcher * gDispatcher = NULL;
PxScene* gScene = NULL;

int main() {
PxDefaultErrorCallback gDefaultErrorCallback;
PxDefaultAllocator gDefaultAllocatorCallback;

gFoundation = PxCreateFoundation(PX_PHYSICS_VERSION, gDefaultAllocatorCallback, gDefaultErrorCallback);

//check if gFoundation is NULL → is not

PxProfileZoneManager* pZoneManager = &PxProfileZoneManager::createProfileZoneManager(gFoundation);
gPhysics = PxCreatePhysics(PX_PHYSICS_VERSION, *gFoundation, PxTolerancesScale(), true, pZoneManager);
// check if gPhysics is NULL → is not

PxSceneDesc sceneDesc(gPhysics->getTolerancesScale());
sceneDesc.gravity = PxVec3(0.0f, -9.8f, 0.0f);