Setup the environment

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie in CUDA.
For my bachelor thesis, I have to implement some imageprocessing algorithms. I have setup the Jetson TK1 and installed the Developerkit on my Laptop. The cuda samples are running and I am able to compile and run a simple helloworld in terminal. I have tried to use Nsight but the crosscompilation doesnt work. My supervisor told my, it’s easier to compile on the board. But I have no idea how to create a Makefile.

So I need help to compile my first programm.
Is it possible to create a Makefile with Cmake?
Or can anyone help my to setup the crosscompilation?

Thanks

Not an answer, but realize that the Jetson is a full Linux development environment which needs extra packages installed to do more than basics. “cmake” is one such package which can be installed and which does not arrive installed by default (not everyone uses it, and an embedded environment does not typically install every option that a desktop would).

First, downloads typically come from repositories listed in the Jetson’s file “/etc/apt/sources.list”. Some of those are commented out, and only packages active from sources.list are shown when working with the “apt” or “apt-get” tools for packages (the cuda repo package adds the cuda repository, not cuda itself). The command “sudo apt update” marks a list of files from repositories, typically you’d run “sudo apt update” before any upgrade or install commands, especially if you just uncommented something in sources.list.

You’d probably want to make sure existing packages are up to date:

sudo apt update
sudo apt-get upgrade

You might want to verify nVidia-specific files are still in place (this hasn’t been an issue since R19.2):

sha1sum -c /etc/nv_tegra_release

Then you’d search for your package:

apt search cmake

You would see related packages. You might install these:

sudo apt-get install cmake cmake-curses-gui cmake-doc