Tesla K80 stopped working

I’ve been using the Tesla K80 for several months through Matlab. It worked fine until a few days ago. Every time I use gpuDevice to select the K80, Matlab completely freezes. I would have to force close it after that. My computer has both Tesla K80 for computations and GTX 970 for display (they were working fine).

There is nothing wrong with the Tesla K80. When I remove the GTX 970, the K80 works fine. When I put back the 970, the K80 can’t be selected, even though it shows up in the device list in the device manager and the nVidia control panel.

I have updated the drivers for both cards to the latest as of today.

Can someone help please?

Setup
Windows 10 64-bit latest update (28/9/2016)
Tesla K80 Release date 2016.8.18 version 354.99 CUDA 7.5
GTX 970 Release date 2016.9.21 version 372.90
Matlab 2016b

Many thanks

So what happened on the day your setup stopped working, after being functional for a long time? My working hypothesis is that there was a change made to either hardware or software on that day. In which case you would want to find out what it was and undo that change.

I am debating with myself whether a defective GTX 970 could lead to these symptoms. Have you tried the GTX 970 in a different machine to see whether it is still functional? I am also wondering what kind of enclosure is suitable for both a passively cooled K80 and an actively cooled GTX 970. Any detail on that?

It’s not possible to have 2 different drivers installed (354.99 and 372.90)

I would suggest you start by selecting the driver that comes with CUDA 7.5 and use that.

What sort of machine is the K80 installed in? Is it an OEM server that is certified for use with K80?

“So what happened on the day your setup stopped working, after being functional for a long time?”