Does cudaMalloc increases the private bytes used on host?

Hello All,

I’m quite new to CUDA C programming, so my question may seem odd, but I cannot find the answer anywhere.
I’ve wrote a bunch of kernels, and a wrapper to be able to call these from C#. I am analyzing the performance (all kernels and other methods like cudaMalloc called by this wrapper) and I realized that even when only cudaMalloc is getting called, the RAM usage is getting higher. The private bytes the process is using on host is increased by the same amount of memory allocated on device. So when I call cudaMalloc to allocate memory on device for a 4k x 4k floating-point matrix, the memory usage on host increased by the same amount (checked with dotMemory and the process explorer as well).
But that is impossible, right? cudaMalloc allocates on device, not host, the host only gets a 64 bit pointer.
I asked the guys at dotMemory if they can observe device memory as well (that would explain why I see increased unmanaged memory usage), and I got the following answer:

““Unmanaged memory” number is just the difference between “Total used” and “Total .NET used”.
It seems that allocating with “cudaMalloc” increases the “committed private bytes” of the process, please use “Task manager” of “Process Explorer” to check this.”

Could someone please enlighten me on this?

Thanks in advance!

Does the amount of host memory used really change with the size of the device allocation?

The first call into the CUDA runtime API will initialize it and, amongst other things, create a device context on the host that holds various information about the status of the device.
If you insert a harmless cudaFree(0); before the call to cudaMalloc(), you should find that the host memory is already taken up after the cudaFree(0), and the subsequent adds little or nothing on top of that.

Dear Tera,