Adding a Compiled Kernel to the Root File System

Hello,

I am studying “Tegra Linux Driver Package Developer Guide” for setting up the TX1 environment
I confuse for the action in the “Adding a Compiled Kernel to the Root File System” step, the description is “copies the Image file to the internal eMMC root filesystem” but the message show in my terminal is “Installing zImage into …”
Are the two action copies and installing different or the same?
In the “To configure a file system for U-Boot” step, we use a apply_binaries script to copy the image files, and in “To configure a file system installed in the internal eMMC” step, we use flash.sh automatically copies the Image file.
Are this two script do the same thing?

Thanks

How the kernel is installed depends on the boot loader. In earlier days fastboot was used, and fastboot required install by flash to a directorypartition owned by just the kernel. These days u-boot is used, and u-boot merely does a file copy to the “/boot” directory. During flash zImage is copied to your installer “rootfs/boot/” directory (along with a couple of other files for boot support). That directory as a whole becomes a loopback mountable image the size of the final root partition…and this is what gets copied to the Jetson (well, in reality a compressed “sparse” version gets copied, but as it gets uncompressed it becomes an exact copy anyway).

The sample rootfs is pure Ubuntu without any nVidia-specific hardware access files. The apply_binaries.sh script copies some nVidia-specific hardware access files into the rootfs. At the time when this occurs you could say the rootfs transitions from being purely Ubuntu to becoming Linux for Tegra (L4T). L4T is really Ubuntu, but it has been tweaked for the Tegra hardware.