Trouble Getting Started - Errors 'make'-ing Argus Samples (oneShot and others)

I bought a TX1 for one fairly straightforward purpose - capture a frame, detect a dark object against a white background, compute the object’s position, store the values, and repeat as rapidly as possible. Following the suggestions in the tutorial ‘Get Started with the JetPack Camera API,’ I went right to the included sample code ‘oneShot’ but ran into errors.

My background is scientific computing. I have written, compiled, ran codes in C. As far as making, cmaking, linking, flashing, …, and, more generally, linux - I am a total amateur. The diagnostic output provided with most errors, most help documents, and the discussions in most of these help topics are largely inscrutable.

However, I am learning and I can follow instructions. Doing so in the last few days, I believe I have up-to-date software running on the TX1:
Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Linux for Tegra 24.2.1
Jetpack 2.3.1

I followed the instructions in /tegra_multimedia_api/README
(1) Export environment variables - YES!
(2) Install JetPack - NO because it was already done
(3) Create symbolic links - YES!
(4) Build and run samples - NO, I’m interested in the sample with argus

I then followed the instructions in /tegra_multimedia_api/argus/README.txt for the oneShot sample code
(1) mkdir build && cd build - YES!
(2) cmake … - YES, but only after figuring out the error indicating that ‘FindArgus.cmake’ could not be found (in just 4 hours of groping around, woo-hoo!)
(3) make - FAILED as follows:

[ 50%] Linking CXX executable argus_oneshot
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -largussampleutils
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
CMakeFiles/argus_oneshot.dir/build.make:95: recipe for target 'argus_oneshot failed
make[2]: *** [argus_oneshot] Error 1
CMakeFiles/MakeFile2:67: recipe for target ‘CMakeFiles/argus_oneshot.dir/all’ failed
make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/argus_oneshot.dir/all] Error 2
MakeFile:149: recipe for target ‘all’ failed