Recommended graphic card (OpenACC)

Hallo,
I have some experience in parallel programming (MPI and OpenMP), and I am planning to dive into GPU programming as well. I do scientific computing, mainly stuff with double precision floating point operations. I am especially attracted by OpenACC (but I will likely explore CUDA Fortran as well). The point is that I have no experience with graphic cards - not even for gaming - therefore I really need some help.

My present platform is: Asus Z170 Deluxe + Intel i7-6700 @ 3.40GHz (Skylake) / 32 GB RAM.
I only use GNU/Linux (at the moment, Linux Mint 18.1).

I do not plan to become a gamer or to do video editing, so I would use the graphic card basically only for scientific computing (for the rest of my activities, the integrated Intel graphics that I am using now would be just fine).

So my question is: What would you recommend to buy? If it makes sense, I would try not to go beyond ~300 euro, more or less.

Thanks!

For that price 64-bit precision will be hard to find in a new GPU. Are you sure that you need 64-bit, as 32-bit floating point computation in CUDA is very accurate due to device supported 32-bit FMA operations.

Also OpenACC does not have good reviews, as it is slow and the performance is nowhere near what you would get in CUDA.

For 64-bit the Tesla line or an older Titan Black would be your only options, but still way over your price limit.

If you could get away with 32-bit for some of your computations then the GTX 1070 would probably be the best choice.

I am aware of the fact that OpenACC is not as fast as CUDA, but my codes should be portable also to other platforms.

Working in single precision is certainly possible in many cases but… Excuse me for the naive question: what if I work in double precision with the GTX 1070? Is it better not to even think about it, or is it still feasible, when necessary?
Thank you.